New Posts
Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
  • Login:
MuchosPoker Affiliate Program
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: should i be alarmed/wary?

  1. #1
    Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    30
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default should i be alarmed/wary?

    It's been 4 months since my forum opened and recently noticed a lot of signups. Despite this still the same amount of people posting, roughly 6-8 people the usual.

    What's alarming isn't the spam bots signing up (only had to ban 2) but rather a bunch of people (really don't know if it's one or more then one) who sign up and in their signatures have a link to absolutepoker.com. Now they aren't affiliates because there links don't contain any affiliate codes/the usual affiliate links. But in the last 2 weeks I'd say about 5 of these people have signed up and thing is they never post.

    I've looked at their IP's and locations and they are different, so question is should I be alarmed? and anybody able to come up with an idea of where these people are coming from?

  2. #2
    Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    9 (91%)

    Default

    Could this be AP itself, or an SEO agency acting on behalf of AP, running an xrumer-type link campaign?

  3. #3
    Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    30
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default

    no idea, but I'd think that if it was some kind of SEO thing, wouldn't that require them to post?

  4. #4
    Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    9 (91%)

    Default

    Some bots just aim to place links in user profiles, which might be indexed depending on the forum's admin settings. Other bots attempt to post. I think it is just a brute force/volume thing: sign up at thousands of forums, try a few link placements, and hope a small percentage of the links stick.

    I have never used a program like this so I am just speculating based on SEO stuff I've read.

  5. #5
    Member
    Searching ....
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    81
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default

    prob xrumer. they getting profile love. xrumer does a whackload of things not just comment spam....

  6. #6
    Poker Affiliate
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default

    It sounds as though it could be as suggested above an SEO profile linking campaign. Interesting how Absolutepoker would allow this type of blackhat linkbuilding towards its website. Maybe they are not aware?

  7. #7
    Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    30
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default

    yea question is should i ban them? They don't offer my forum any value

  8. #8
    ak
    ak is offline
    Banned
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,529
    Blog Entries
    4
    Feedback Score
    73 (100%)

    Default

    Yes they will come back and spam the shit out of you. I recommend you getting a paid vbulletin spam blocker

  9. #9
    ak
    ak is offline
    Banned
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,529
    Blog Entries
    4
    Feedback Score
    73 (100%)

    Default

    Here is a decent program that's free.

    Spam-O-Matic

  10. #10
    PAL King of Automation
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    518
    Feedback Score
    8 (100%)

    Default

    Would that be the Lite version or the PRO version?

    Quote Originally Posted by ak View Post
    Here is a decent program that's free.

    Spam-O-Matic
    A2 Hosting - Free Setup

    Home based poker dealing course.

    Like Exchange for Facebook,Twitter,g+, traffic exchange and more !


 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.5
Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
Affiliate Program Consultant