• Login:
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree5Likes
  • 5 Post By Prop

Thread: Rakeback sites monetized through CPA/rev share?

RB
    My Status

----

Add as a friend
    Feedback Score

Default Rakeback sites monetized through CPA/rev share?

I'm very new to this industry and I'm trying to understand all aspect of this niche industry.

I'm seeing a lot of posts stating that rakeback sites are 'dead' and people are moving away from it.

My questions is what's the difference between rakeback sites vs. a site that generates revenue through CPA and/or revenue share?

Aren't they essentially the same thing? i.e. raketherake.com is a rakeback site which makes its money through CPA/rev share? Or have I miss understood the definition of a rakeback site?

Thanks!

My Status

----

Add as a friend
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

A rakeback site is kind of a thing of the past because most rakeback sites have offers for non rakeback rooms too. All rakeback offers are revenue share. I cannot recall any flat rakeback offer that paid as a CPA to affiliates. Non rakeback offers can be CPA, rev share, or a combination of the two.

ความลับไม่มีในโลก
    My Status

----

Add as a friend
    Feedback Score
    48 (100%)

Ask again in a different way if not understood.

Rakeback is the process of returning a player a percentage of the rake he has paid. In the old days poker sites would pay us say 60% of the rake the player generated and we'd pass on that player 40% rakeback. So he was getting 2/3 of our affiliate pay. 40% to him 20% we kept.

60% revenue share was wide spread in 2005, but eventually sites start realizing things like the importance of retention, how messed the rakeback policies were (some players got it while others didn't) and many didn't want to pay out as much. After a while the biggest sites ended rakeback while the smaller ones used it as a method to compete.