New Posts
Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
  • Login:
TerminalPoker.com Affiliate Program
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: What is this?

  1. #1
    My Baby Boy ↓
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Myth Drannor
    Posts
    977
    Blog Entries
    2
    Feedback Score
    38 (100%)

    Default What is this?

    This guy keeps leaving comments on one of my blogs that link to a page on his site that's based off of my page. Here is an example:

    xxhttp://sevencardstud.pokerandblog.com/1969/12/31/poker-clubs-or-poker-rooms/

    ..It seems like he is just copying the first few sentences. He's doing this for many of my posts. Any ideas on the purpose for doing this and should I be taking any kind of action? Thanks
    Last edited by Josh; 02-10-2009 at 09:07 PM.
    Isn't this the sweetest thing in the world: Link - My little girl (S. Frost) is at the bottom, right of this school newsleter :-)
    --------
    Online Gambling Blog | Allin Poker bonus code | Kingdom of Poker (I know...kinda shady)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    300
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)

    Default

    This is a scraper blog. It's a blackhat tactic. Most of them give you a strange backlink. It's a free link so I don't do care if they grab a couple of sentences. However, I would edit the link you provided here, so they don't receive any benefit from your post.

  3. #3
    Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    9 (91%)

    Default

    Sorry for the noob Q, I googled it and everything, but I can't figure out what benefit the person running the scraper blog can possibly derive from this...

    He doesn't have adsense up... He's not selling anything... His blog doesn't rank for any terms as far as I can tell...

    Why would someone set something like this up?

  4. #4
    My Baby Boy ↓
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Myth Drannor
    Posts
    977
    Blog Entries
    2
    Feedback Score
    38 (100%)

    Default

    I would guess that he's picking up traffic and will end up redirecting it somewhere or something. Thats just an uneducated guess though. I am going to sick Nicole on him so I kind of feel bad for him lol.
    Isn't this the sweetest thing in the world: Link - My little girl (S. Frost) is at the bottom, right of this school newsleter :-)
    --------
    Online Gambling Blog | Allin Poker bonus code | Kingdom of Poker (I know...kinda shady)


 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.5
Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
Affiliate Program Consultant