New Posts
Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
  • Login:
BettingPartners.com - Exclusive Affiliate Network for Bodog
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 13 of 13
  1. #11
    New Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default

    Seems that no one can be sure about that. I don't think Google will do that.

  2. #12
    PAL Red Pro
    Go Cubs Go
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USSA
    Posts
    4,008
    Blog Entries
    355
    Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

    Default

    I had a reseller account with hostgator a couple years ago and had the same issue where every site on the server dropped in the SERPS.

    What happened was that someone hacked the site and edited the DNS Zone of each domain on the server with a wildcard "*". By doing this they were able to setup a bunch of subdomains like freeviagara.mysite.com. All these subdomains then redirected to the I.P. of the wildcard. Of course it was spammy as hell in Googles eyes, so the sites were all penalized. I dug this up. This is what the redirect looked like from my cpanel.



    Not sure if that is what happened with you, but knowing hostgator I wouldn't be surprised. If nothing else if anyone ever sees massive subdomains of their root that they didn't set-up hopefully they'll remember reading this post.
    Support PAL Partner Affiliate Programs, because they will support you!

    Support PAL Partners Today!

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    300
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)

    Default

    Personally, I've been pleased with my Hostgator shared plan. Although I'd prefer a dedicated server for sure. Like MM said, it's unlikely that a whole server would be penalized. It sounds more like something to do with links.

    One time I purchased a link from someone here, and it turned out that the site was penalized. My website went from the first page for its terms, to oblivion. After I had the person remove the link, rankings returned in a few weeks. I would check any recent links you've received.

    The aimtrust links are just referrer spam. I have them in my logs as well. It looks like a reputable company, so I assume they hired someone for SEO that likes blackhat stuff.


 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Entire 24 Site Network For Sale!
    By TheDonk in forum Websites
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-29-2010, 10:17 PM
  2. Someone stole my entire site
    By jdwanchalk in forum General Poker Affiliate Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-28-2009, 10:54 PM
  3. Domain Penalty Checking
    By Ridge in forum Poker SEO Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-17-2009, 11:40 AM
  4. Check if you've got a penalty!
    By Haynesey in forum General Poker Affiliate Forum
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 01-22-2009, 01:34 AM
  5. Google +50 penalty for a single page?
    By NickM in forum Poker SEO Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-31-2008, 08:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.5
Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
Affiliate Program Consultant