New Posts
Live Radio
Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
  • Login:
Pokerview.com Affiliate Program
BettingPartners.com - Exclusive Affiliate Network for Bodog

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Like Tree10Likes
  • 8 Post By BetLM
  • 2 Post By ak

Thread: Linesmaker Spinning TheSportsGeek and Other Site's Content

  1. #1
    ความลับไม่มีในโลก
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    ▐▐▐▐▐▐
    Posts
    4,727
    Feedback Score
    45 (100%)

    Default Linesmaker Spinning TheSportsGeek and Other Site's Content

    This is an actual sportsbook that advertises on forums (I think was G911 featured at one point).

    Their blog is all garbage with obviously spun content:

    Check out this article: Understanding Derivatives in Prop Sports Betting It's gibberish in some spots but this is stolen from an article I wrote a long time ago for thesportsgeek.com (Kevin's site).

    Kevin's legit version here: Prop Betting Strategy - NFL Prop Betting Tips

    Compare the first paragraphs and there is no way that's not spun.

    The SportsGeek Legit Copy Intro:

    In sports betting on a proposition, also called a prop bet or a prop, a wager is placed on anything other than a point spread, moneyline or game total. Exactly what this wager might be is anything from which team will score first, to which quarterback will have the most passing yards, to any other scenario described by a betting site.
    Their Stolen Version Intro:

    Prop bet is among the most popular lar form of sports bet­ting among most pro­fes­sional bet­tors. In prop, a bet is placed on any­thing except a point spread, money line or total. By any­thing, we mean a bet on say the team that is likely to score first, or the quar­ter­back that will have max­i­mum num­ber of pass­ing yards or any other con­di­tion spec­i­fied by the sportsbook.

    The legit copy is much longer and more detailed but the rest is stolen from it as well. With over 400 different props on the market choosing the same exact "first team to score" and "QB passing yards matchup" as the only two examples is suspicious to start, but read the rest of the content (will take longer to see) and its obvious this was all just extracted and spun.

    So anyways linesmaker is ranking with some of this garbage - so is basically profiting by stealing others work, mostly stealing from affiliates. Their blog is loaded with other stolen and spun content as well.
    Last edited by pokerprop; 12-03-2011 at 08:26 AM.
    If you're going to bet US Sports online - I strongly suggest 5Dimes.com or Bookmaker.eu.

    Some succeed because they are destined to, but most succeed because they are determined to.

  2. #2
    ความลับไม่มีในโลก
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    ▐▐▐▐▐▐
    Posts
    4,727
    Feedback Score
    45 (100%)

    Default

    Also to add a separate thought, the reasons this is a huge deal is most often stolen content goes on shitty sites and gets no credit. However this an operator whose recently 301 redirected to .eu name is already PR4 with a 103,000 Compete Score and the change to .eu craze is still rather new. Operators posting stolen content is a major concern.
    Last edited by pokerprop; 12-03-2011 at 04:34 AM.
    If you're going to bet US Sports online - I strongly suggest 5Dimes.com or Bookmaker.eu.

    Some succeed because they are destined to, but most succeed because they are determined to.

  3. #3
    Wannabe Balla
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2,203
    Blog Entries
    1
    Feedback Score
    26 (96%)

    Default

    Is something like that legal? Some of my sites have been raped and outranked by clowns doing this garbage where they are obviously extracting feeeds and using autospinners to change the content mostly into illegible crap. I contacted a few hosts who completely ignored my emails about it.

    Anything that can be done?
    PM me for:

    English/Chinese translation.
    PSD to WP/Custom WP Plugin Creation
    Swap MB for Paypal

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    173
    Feedback Score
    14 (100%)

    Default

    He could report it, https://www.google.com/webmasters/to...amreport?hl=en

    Yeah looks definitely like its ripped off, whether its spun or rewritten really really poorly, not sure, doesn't matter.
    "It's better to light a candle then to curse the dark..." - K'naan

    My poker download site.

  5. #5
    DropoutGotRich.com
    My Personal Blog URL Above!
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,998
    Blog Entries
    32
    Feedback Score
    39 (100%)

    Default

    Hm ya if a bunch of us make complaints will it help?

  6. #6
    Member
    Official "likes"
    hoarder/reseller
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    US
    Posts
    63
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KevinMcC View Post
    Hm ya if a bunch of us make complaints will it help?
    At the very least, it wouldn't hurt.

  7. #7
    New Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Antigua
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Corrected Mispelling

    Hey Guys, not a great way to introduce yourself on a forum but.... I am one of the managers at LM, this thread was forwarded to me and I wanted to set the record straight.

    We don't scrape and spin content. We do, however, hire content writers to do basic articles on sports betting topics. They are expected to research a topic and write short UNIQUE articles.

    I have read the post and this thread and the article published on our site was obviously a poorly written knock off of Kevin's article on SportsGeek.

    That is unacceptable and we are sorry. I did a quick edit to correct the awful grammar and added the appropriate acknowledgement to the author and a link back to the source.

    If you take a look at any of the recent posts we publish from news feeds, we do attribute the source.... this article ought to have been unique but it was clearly a lazy attempt to copy someone else's work.

    The lesson... think twice before hiring cheap Indian content writers.

    contact me on pm to discuss further if you like.
    Last edited by BetLM; 12-03-2011 at 10:47 AM. Reason: correct mispelling
    MJ, KevinMcC, pokerprop and 5 others like this.

  8. #8
    MJ
    MJ is offline
    Armchair Quarterback
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,845
    Blog Entries
    17
    Feedback Score
    43 (100%)

    Default

    Thanks for a super quick fix betlm, always nice to get an honest apology and quick action - welcome.

  9. #9
    ak
    ak is offline
    Senior Member
    My Status
     

    Add as a friend
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,529
    Blog Entries
    4
    Feedback Score
    73 (100%)

    Default

    Talk about a nice internal link towards Kevin's site..

    I'm Jealous
    KevinMcC and Gydian like this.
    Roger Shriver age 30 is a scammer located in Florida. Do NOT do business with him unless you want negative consequences. I have ordered his full background report and record for anyone wanting to view it


 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.5
Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
Affiliate Program Consultant